top of page

Trusting God's Will

Updated: 1 day ago

There have been many times when I have been confused about what God was doing in my life, and I’m sure you have, too. I have gone through seasons that I never thought I would go through. I’ve seen things happen that I did not expect.


Though I didn’t always like what was happening at the time, I knew God had a perfect plan. I could relax and have peace, knowing that He is in control and that nothing surprises Him – not a breakup, not a global pandemic, not a war, not a negative diagnosis, not the death of a loved one. Nothing.


When I was younger, I always imagined what my teen years would be like. Deep down, I had set goals for myself. Expectations, even. But today I am so far from those hopes and expectations that it’s actually a little funny. I never dreamed I’d be where I am now or be the person I am now.


When I think about my future, I tend to see myself in a certain light, doing certain things, being with certain people in certain places… The list goes on and on. And while it’s fine and maybe even necessary to make plans and set goals for yourself, always keep in mind that God’s will should be our first priority. Submitting our lives to Him includes our wills and our plans. 


Though His will may sometimes be unclear to us, we can rest assured knowing that our Heavenly Father will do what is best for us. Even when you have no idea how you got to where you are or where to go next, God will direct your paths if you trust Him (see Proverbs 3:5,6).


Yes, it is hard to trust God when we don’t know what is happening. I’m the kind of person who always wants to know what is going on, so I fully understand this sentiment.


But as someone once pointed out to me, God’s will is not a blank document that says “God’s Will” at the top which we can fill in and sign at the bottom. Rather, we sign the bottom when there is nothing in the middle, and we say, “God, fill it in.”


It takes guts to do that. It takes an enormous amount of faith and trust in God. But there’s no one else who we can trust more. He truly does know and want what is best for us.


His will is always our best option.



Isaiah 55:8-9 says in the New King James Version, “‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,’ says the Lord. ‘For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.’”


We are limited, finite beings with an all-knowing, all-powerful, and infinite God. Chances are that we would do a horrible job managing our own lives! Why not leave our lives, plans, futures, and dreams in the hands of the Almighty Who loves us unconditionally?


Yes, His plans aren’t always going to make sense to us. But when hindsight kicks in, we can look back on our lives and see the hand of God ordering our steps and watching out for us, as I myself have seen many times.


So even when it’s scary, and even when it makes no sense, trust that our God “is able to do exceedingly, abundantly above all that we ask or think” (Ephesians 3:20, NKJV). He sees the whole picture and knows us better than even our own selves.


He is able.


He is omnipotent.


He loves you.


Let’s trust Him together.

 

-Olivia

 

42 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 commenti


summertimeculver
25 lug

Thank you for writing this! <3 He calls us to Trust and Obey..not to figure it all out.

Mi piace
olivest25
28 lug
Risposta a

Amen! Well said!

Mi piace

B Tracey
B Tracey
23 lug

Awesome encouraging word!!

Mi piace
olivest25
23 lug
Risposta a

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

Mi piace
bottom of page